A little bit of This "n" That

Hold My Tongue?


Freedom of speech is the freedom to speak without censorship or limitation, or both. The synonymous term freedom of expression is sometimes used to indicate not only freedom of verbal speech but any act of seeking, receiving and imparting information or ideas, regardless of the medium used. In practice, the right to freedom of speech is not absolute in any country and the right is commonly subject to limitations, such as on “hate speech“.

The right to freedom of speech is recognized as a human right under Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and recognized in international human rights law in the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR). The ICCPR recognizes the right to freedom of speech as “the right to hold opinions without interference. Everyone shall have the right to freedom of expression”. Furthermore freedom of speech is recognized in European, inter-American and African regional human rights law. (Web Reference Definition)

OPINION – NOUN

1. A belief or conclusion held with confidence but not substantiated by positive knowledge or proof: “The world is not run by thought, nor by imagination, but by opinion” (Elizabeth Drew).

2. A judgment based on special knowledge and given by an expert: a medical opinion.

3. A judgment or estimation of the merit of a person or thing: has a low opinion of braggarts.

4. The prevailing view: public opinion.

5. Law A formal statement by a court or other adjudicative body of the legal reasons and principles for the conclusions of the court.

(Sourced Oxford English Dictionary)

Basically I can have my freedom of speech without converging it into hate speech, this my friends is my understanding.

Every single person has the right to express their opinion. This is the thing, it’s their OPINION. It doesn’t necessarily need to be right; their opinion does not have to be in agreeance with yours, this is why it’s an opinion. It does not have to be substantiated through proof or fact.

I can say to you “ In my opinion that orange is Blue” You may think I have overtaken my daily LSD allowance and then add that “It is in FACT orange” which clearly stats two different ideas, Mine is my opinion and not necessarily  the truth , yours on the other hand is fact and can be backed up.

Yes I know it’s a shit example but you get my drift.

Too many times we find ourselves in a situation that we express our opinions and feelings openly, which yes is our choice, only to find that others take it personally or find it offensive.

If you don’t like me or my views then that’s your opinion, and fine you can have that opinion, just as much as I may not agree with you on topics that you feel strong about.

If I got offended at EVERYTHING that was said to me or I read or I took everything personally as a personal attack on me I would be a sad wretched excuse of a person living in a cardboard box with no communication whatsoever.

 Making a generalised statement about a subject at times leaves us all open to insult, argument, backhandedness, childish behaviours etc, but it appears this is what creates parts of the human persona.

 At no point in time have I ever expressed any form of Hate Speech, hate speech for those of you asking is, outside the law, any communication including direct or indirect which disparages a person or a group on the basis of some characteristic such as race or sexual orientation.

If this was the case then you would have found me signed up to the KKK in the Deep South, with a swastika tattooed on my left butt cheek.

Sometimes you need to stand up and be the better person in a situation, everyone can have their opinion, Get over it leave them to it and walk away.

It doesn’t necessarily mean that you are wrong or they are wrong, because at the end of the day what you are expressing is your opinion, it just means that you have to allow everyone to have the same right to express themselves as you.

And by the way this Blog is my OPINION. If you take offence to it and think it’s about you, well last time I checked I wasn’t Carly Simon and no this Blog is not about you.

Leave a Reply

